Wednesday colloquia

The API colloquia are weekly meetings where people give a 45 minute overview of their work. Afterwards there is time for discussion. At the end of each month the colloquia are jointly held with GRAPPA.

The contact person for the regular API colloquia is Selma de Mink.
The contact person for the joint GRAPPA/API colloquia is Jacco Vink.


Upcoming colloquia

No Colloquium (NAC)

No Colloquium (NAC)

Wednesday 24 May 2017,

Mapping accretion flows around supermassive black holes: AGN and TDEs

Erin Kara — University of Maryland

Most of the energy output from an Active Galactic Nucleus is released very close to the black hole, and therefore, probing the relativistic region of the inner accretion flow is essential to understanding how AGN work and effect their environments. In this talk, I will present a new way of probing these extreme, relativistic environments, through X-ray reverberation mapping, which allows us to map the gas falling on to the black hole and measure the effects of strongly curved spacetime close to the event horizon.

Read more

Wednesday 31 May 2017, 11:00. Location: C4.174

TBD

Philip Moesta — NASA Einstein fellow at UC Berkeley

Host: Selma de Mink

Read more

Wednesday 7 June 2017, 11:00. Location: C4.174

TBD

Zoe Leinhardt

Read more

Wednesday 14 June 2017, 11:00. Location: C4.174

TBD

Richard de Grijs

Read more

Wednesday 6 September 2017, 11:00. Location: C4.174

TBD

Mickael Bonnefoy

Read more

Wednesday 13 September 2017, 11:00. Location: C4.174

=== Available Slot ====

=== Available Slot ====

Wednesday 20 September 2017,

TBD

Victoria Scowcroft

Wednesday 27 September 2017, 11:00. Location: C4.174

TBD

Leen Decin — Leuven

Read more

Wednesday 4 October 2017, 11:00

=== Available Slot ====

=== Available Slot ====

Wednesday 11 October 2017,